Acre banner Home Contact Us Franšais
dragonfly on leave
Photo © Geof Burbidge

ACRE Land Trust

We live in a beautiful place. Between the deep hardwood forests of the Gatineau Hills and the clear, clean waters of the Gatineau River are several “communities in nature”. The municipalities of Chelsea, La Peche, and the Town of Wakefield are fortunate indeed to be endowed with tremendous natural gifts of water, wildlife, and nature.

The forests, meadows, creeks, and wetlands that make this area so special to so many can now be permanently protected. As a land trust ACRE can receive donations of land and can permanently care for these lands to protect some of the natural, recreational, scenic, or historical values that make the lands so special to so many community members.  If sufficient funds are available ACRE can also purchase lands in order to preserve them and care for them in perpetuity.

Financial Incentives

Financial incentives are available to any private landowner who donates land or an interest in land to a land trust.  Land that is determined to be ‘ecologically sensitive’ by Environment and Climate Change Canada and the Government of Quebec will qualify for significant tax incentives:

  • no taxable capital gains

  • a five-year carry-forward of any unused portion of the donation receipt.

Landowners can also continue to use and enjoy their land even after a donation has been completed.

Don't Own Land? You can still Support the Land Trust

You can support the land trust even if you do not own lands that could be considered for protection. ACRE can receive your financial donations and can issue charitable donation receipts as a registered charitable organisation. Donations can be targeted to support specific land trust activities including acquisition and stewardship.

ACRE is your local land trust!

ACRE is a non-profit volunteer organisation run by community members that aims to protect and manage natural spaces for the benefit of the entire community.

Contact ACRE at your convenience to discuss donation options!

[top]


Nature Chelsea

Nature Chelsea envisions a system of conserved natural areas, consisting of core habitat areas (terrestrial and aquatic) and corridors that connect the Gatineau River to Gatineau Park, that together comprise an ecological network capable of providing ecological goods and services and supporting rare species, and that is supported by Chelsea residents as a valued asset.

Nature Chelsea is a partnership project of the Municipality of Chelsea and Action Chelsea for the Respect of the Environment (ACRE). The Nature Chelsea approach emphasizes the maintenance of biodiversity and habitat connectivity within the Municipality of Chelsea through proactive planning. On a fine scale, Nature Chelsea aims to ensure that ecological design principles are integrated into the early stages of the design of residential subdivisions to protect biodiversity and reduce the subdivision’s ecological impact.

This design approach includes identifying wildlife corridors and the placement of roads and buildings for conservation and connectivity of natural features, and opportunities for the public appreciation of nature. On a broad scale, Nature Chelsea aims to identify areas with high value to biodiversity and consider how connectivity between natural areas might be incorporated early in the community development planning process.

The goal of Nature Chelsea is to support the conservation of Chelsea’s biodiversity and to recognize the conservation of natural areas as critical to successful sustainable development of the Municipality, through:

  • Conservation Planning: Gathering scientific information to support biodiversity-friendly decision-making, and developing a biodiversity conservation plan designed to ensure effective conservation of biodiversity and natural areas of Chelsea;

  • Education: Increasing public understanding and appreciation of Chelsea’s biodiversity, and;

  • Stewardship: Helping landowners to manage their properties in ways that support biodiversity.

For more information on the project: www.naturechelsea.ca

[top]


H2O

H2O Chelsea is a community-based water research and monitoring program developed collaboratively by the Municipality of Chelsea, the University of Ottawa's Institute of the Environment and Action Chelsea for the Respect of the Environment (ACRE).

Our goal is to develop a better understanding of ground and surface water resources in Chelsea that will inform municipal planning and management decisions.

The project is volunteer-driven, relying on the commitment of over one hundred local residents, municipal employees and University of Ottawa professors and students. In 2007, the project will be working with other communities to assist them in implementing water research and education programs in their region.

Please visit the project website: www.h2ochelsea.ca for more information and learn how you can get involved.

[top]


ARORA Project

Volunteers planting trees This habitat restoration project involves the re-naturalization of a riparian area damaged by commercial activities on the west bank of the Gatineau River, just north of the Alonzo-Wright Bridge in Chelsea. The project's name "ARORA" - was constructed from the Latin, "ara" (refuge) and "ora" shoreline describes the riparian buffer zone (ie. the zone adjacent to the shore).

The project site, owned by Hydro-Québec, is part of a 300-acre forest with magnificent conifers, some of them centuries old. As the only intact fragment of an ancient ecosystem that once existed on the shores of the Gatineau River, the forest serves to prevent erosion along the river's steep banks. It is also a vital buffer zone that borders the largest spawning grounds in the world of a threatened freshwater fish, the river redhorse (Moxostoma carinatum).

Extensive research of the site's aquatic fauna by Dr. François Chapleau of the University of Ottawa has confirmed the presence of at least 39 other fish species, including the channel darter (Percina copeland) and the margined madtom (Noturus insignis), which are also listed as species at risk.

In its barren, deforested state, the project site is highly vulnerable to soil erosion, threatening the habitat of the river redhorse, channel darter, and margined madtom, which require clean spawning grounds to survive.

Our project involves the planting of native trees, and shrubs in order to stabilize the soils, as well as to improve the visual quality of the site.

Planting at the site started in May 2006, and since then we have planted over 1000 trees and shrubs, as well as re-contoured the site to prevent erosion from storm run-off. We will complete the planting at the site in the spring of 2008.

To ensure the long term success of the project, we have begun a maintenance plan that includes regularly patrolling the site, weeding, irrigating plantings in times of drought, replacing dead and diseased plants, and removing alien plants species.

The Chelsea Arora Project enjoys widespread support in our community. Many volunteers have offered their expertise in such areas as terrestrial and aquatic ecology, conservation biology, hydrology, landscape design, fundraising, and communications. All the planting to date has been done by community volunteers.

Financial support; TD-Canada Trust, Mountain Equipment Co-op, the Canadian Wildlife Federation, Environment Canada, and the Municipality of Chelsea have all provided support for this project.

Project partners include ACRE, Friends of the Gatineau River, Chelsea Elementary School, École Grand-Boisé and Chelsea United Church.

[top]


Joujoutheque Chelsea Toy Library

A project originally conceived by a committee of ACRE since 2004, the Chelsea Toy Library has been promoting the principle of reducing our environmental footprint by sharing rather than owning toys.

The benefits of this are several: parents can borrow, instead of buy; toys are given "nine lives", and contributions to landfill are reduced. The library's purchasing policy also emphasizes wooden materials and non-electronic toys.

An expanding collection of quality, new and gently used toys currently caters to almost 100 member families, many of whom socialize informally through their interest in the library and its associated Friday morning drop-in playgroup.

The Toy Library is run entirely by volunteers and relies on community members to maintain its numerous functions. These include toy acquisition and maintenance, fundraising, finances, and community liaison.

Toy Libraby Facebook page

[top]


Working for a Pesticide-free Chelsea

ACRE was created following Dr. Nicole Bruinsma's screening of the film Exposure in the Spring of 1998, which lead to the successful campaign for the introduction of a pesticide by-law in Chelsea. Several of ACRE's founding members were members of the Chelsea Municipal Sub -Committee whose task it was to draft a Municipal By-law (By-law concerning pesticides), to regulate and largely restrict the cosmetic use of pesticides. Since the by-law was passed, ACRE's focus has been on continuing education and outreach. Working both with and independently of, the municipality of Chelsea, ACRE has sought to inform the local population, other communities and governments at all levels of the dangers of pesticide use and alternatives through education and advocacy.

Golf courses

Members of ACRE have worked with the Municipality and representatives of Chelsea's two golf courses, on a municipal sub-committee to devise means to continue reductions in pesticide use on the courses. To date significant reductions have been made: no pesticides are applied to fairways and pesticide applications on the greens have been significantly reduced. ACRE is still committed to a total phase out of pesticides.

The following are links to documents relevant to a Pesticide-free Chelsea

[top]

Acre banner Accueil Contactez-nous English
dragonfly on leave
Photo © Geof Burbidge

Fiducie foncière ACRE

Nous vivons dans un endroit magnifique! Entre les vastes forêts de feuillus des collines de la Gatineau et les eaux limpides de la rivière Gatineau, existent plusieurs “communautés de la nature”. Les municipalités de Chelsea, La Pêche, et le village de Wakefield sont en effet chanceuses d’avoir de tels environnements naturels.

Les forêts, prés, ruisseaux, et terres humides qui font de ces endroits des petits paradis si spéciaux pour nous tous, peuvent maintenant être protégés de façon permanente. En tant que fiducie foncière, ACRE peu recevoir des dons de terrain et peut les protéger pour toujours, et ainsi préserver leurs valeurs naturelle, récréative, et historique qui sont si chères a nous tous. Si ACRE dispose de suffisamment de fonds, il peut aussi acquérir des terres et ainsi les protéger à perpétuité.

Avantages Financiers

Des avantages financiers sont disponibles aux propriétaires qui font don d’une terre ou d’un intérêt foncier partiel à une fiducie foncière. Les terres qui sont identifiées comme ‘écosensibles’ par Environnement et changement climatique Canada et le Gouvernement du Québec reçoivent un traitement fiscal très avantageux:

  • élimination du gain en capital imposable

  • report des sommes non utilisées sur une période de cinq années subséquentes

De plus, les propriétaires terriens peuvent continuer à utiliser et jouir de leur terre une fois le don complété.

Vous n’êtes pas propriétaire terrien? Vous pouvez toujours aider la fiducie foncière!

Vous pouvez soutenir la fiducie foncière même si vous n’êtes pas propriétaire terrien. ACRE, en tant qu’organisme de bienfaisance, peut recevoir vos dons financiers et émettre un reçu officiel de don. Les dons peuvent soutenir des activités spécifiques à la fiducie foncière incluant l’acquisition de terre et leur intendance.You can support the land trust even if you do not own lands that could be considered for protection.

ACRE est votre fiducie foncière locale!

ACRE est un organisme de bienfaisance, diriger par des bénévoles de la communauté, et qui vise à protéger et gérer les espaces naturels aux bénéfices de toute la communauté.

Contacter ACRE pour discuter de vos options de don!

[haut]


Nature Chelsea

Nature Chelsea, qui est soutenu par les résidents de Chelsea comme un bien de valeur, envisage un système de zones naturelles protégées, composé d'habitats principaux (terrestres et aquatiques) et de corridors reliant la rivière Gatineau au parc de la Gatineau, qui formeraient ensemble un réseau écologique capable de soutenir des biens et services écologiques ainsi que des espèces rares.

Nature Chelsea est un projet de partenariat de la Municipalité de Chelsea et d’Action Chelsea pour le Respect de l'Environnement (ACRE). L'approche de Nature Chelsea met l'accent sur le maintien de la biodiversité et la connectivité des habitats dans la municipalité de Chelsea grâce à une planification proactive. Nature Chelsea vise à garantir que les principes de conception écologique soient intégrés dans les premières étapes de la conception des subdivisions résidentielles afin de protéger la biodiversité et de réduire l'impact écologique de la fragmentation du territoire.

Cette approche de conception comprend l'identification des corridors fauniques et de l’emplacement des routes et des édifices pour la conservation et la connectivité des éléments naturels et les possibilités d'appréciation publique de la nature. À grande échelle, Nature Chelsea vise à identifier les zones à forte valeur pour la biodiversité et à examiner comment la connectivité entre les aires naturelles pourrait être incorporée au début du processus de planification du développement communautaire.

L'objectif de Nature Chelsea est de soutenir la conservation de la biodiversité de Chelsea et de reconnaître la conservation des espaces naturels comme essentielle au succès du développement durable de la Municipalité, à travers:

  • Planification de la conservation: Rassembler des informations scientifiques pour appuyer une prise de décisions favorable à la biodiversité et élaborer un plan de conservation de la biodiversité conçu pour assurer une conservation efficace de la biodiversité et des aires naturelles de Chelsea;

  • Éducation: Accroître la compréhension et l'appréciation du public pour la biodiversité de Chelsea, et;

  • Gérance: Aider les propriétaires terriens à gérer leurs propriétés de manière à soutenir la biodiversité.

Pour plus d'informations sur le projet: www.naturechelsea.ca

[haut]


H2O

H2O Chelsea est un programme communautaire de recherche et de surveillance de l'eau mis au point en collaboration par la Municipalité de Chelsea, l'Institut de l'environnement de l'Université d'Ottawa, et Action Chelsea pour le Respect de l’Environnement (ACRE).

Notre objectif est de développer une meilleure compréhension des ressources en eau souterraine et de surface à Chelsea qui informera les décisions municipales de planification et de gestion.

Le projet est axé sur les bénévoles, en s'appuyant sur l'engagement de plus d'une centaine de résidents, d'employés municipaux et de professeurs et d'étudiants de l'Université d'Ottawa. En 2007, le projet a collaboré avec d'autres communautés pour les aider à mettre en œuvre des programmes de recherche et d'éducation sur l'eau dans leur région.

Veuillez visiter le site Web du projet: www.h2Ochelsea.ca pour en savoir plus et apprendre comment vous pouvez vous impliquer.

[haut]


Projet ARORA

Volunteers planting trees Ce projet de restauration d'habitats comprend la re-naturalisation d'une zone riveraine endommagée par des activités commerciales sur la rive ouest de la rivière Gatineau, juste au nord du pont Alonzo-Wright à Chelsea. Le nom du projet "ARORA" provient des mots latins; "ara" (refuge) et "ora" littoral décrit la zone riveraine tampon (c.-à-la zone adjacente à la rive).

Le site du projet, qui appartient à Hydro-Québec, fait partie d'une forêt de 300 acres avec de magnifiques conifères, dont certains datent de plusieurs siècles. En tant que seul fragment intact d'un ancien écosystème qui existait autrefois sur les rives de la rivière Gatineau, la forêt sert à prévenir l'érosion le long des rives escarpées de la rivière. C'est aussi une zone tampon vitale qui borde les plus grandes frayères au monde d'un poisson d'eau douce menacé, le chevalier de rivière (Moxostoma carinatum).

Des recherches approfondies sur la faune aquatique du site par le Dr François Chapleau de l'Université d'Ottawa ont confirmé la présence d'au moins 39 autres espèces de poissons, dont le fouille roche gris (Percina copelandi) et le chat-fou liséré (Noturus insignis) deux espèces en périls.

Dans son état aride et déboisé, le site du projet est très vulnérable à l'érosion des sols, menaçant l'habitat du chevalier de rivière, du fouille roche gris et du chat-fou liséré, qui nécessitent des frayères très propres pour survivre.

Notre projet consiste à planter des arbres indigènes et des arbustes afin de stabiliser les sols, ainsi que d'améliorer la qualité visuelle du site.

Le reboisement du site a commencé en mai 2006, et depuis, nous avons planté plus de 1000 arbres et arbustes, ainsi que le retracement du contour du site pour éviter l'érosion due au ruissellement. Le reboisement a été complète au printemps 2008.

Pour assurer le succès à long terme du projet, nous avons entrepris un plan d'entretien qui consiste à patrouiller régulièrement le site, désherber, arroser les plantations en période de sécheresse, remplacer les plants morts et malades et enlever les plantes envahissantes.

Le projet Arora d'ACRE bénéficie d'un large soutien dans notre communauté. De nombreux bénévoles ont offert leur expertise dans des domaines tels que l'écologie terrestre et aquatique, la biologie, l'hydrologie, l’aménagement paysager, la collecte de fonds et les communications. Tout le reboisement à ce jour a été effectuée par des bénévoles de la communauté.

Aide financière: TD-Canada Trust, Mountain Equipment Co-op, la Fédération canadienne de la faune, Environnement Canada et la municipalité de Chelsea ont tous appuyé ce projet.

Les partenaires du projet sont: ACRE, les Amis de la rivière Gatineau, l'école élémentaire Chelsea, l'École Grand-Boisé et l'église Chelsea United.

[haut]


Joujouthèque Chelsea

Un projet conçu à l'origine par un comité d'ACRE, depuis 2004 la Joujouthèque Chelsea fait la promotion du principe de réduction de notre empreinte environnementale en partageant plutôt qu’en possédant des jouets.

Les avantages sont nombreux: les parents peuvent emprunter au lieu d'acheter; les jouets ont "neuf vies" plutôt qu’une, et les recours aux sites d'enfouissement sont réduits. La politique d'achat de la bibliothèque met également l'accent sur les matériaux en bois et les jouets non électroniques.

Une collection croissante de jouets de qualité, nouveaux et doucement utilisés s'adresse actuellement à près de 100 familles membres, dont beaucoup se rencontrent de façon informelle par leur intérêt pour la bibliothèque et le groupe de jeu qui s'y rattache le vendredi matin.

La joujouthèque est entièrement dirigée par des bénévoles et s'appuie sur les membres de la communauté pour maintenir ses nombreuses fonctions: acquisition et l'entretien des jouets, collecte de fonds, finances et liaison avec la communauté.

Page Facebook de la joujouthèque

[haut]


Chelsea sans pesticide

ACRE a été créée à la suite de la projection du film « Exposure » au printemps de 1998 par Dr. Nicole Bruinsma, ce qui a mené à la campagne pour l'introduction d'un règlement sur les pesticides à Chelsea. Plusieurs membres fondateurs d'ACRE étaient membres du sous-comité municipal de Chelsea dont la tâche était de rédiger un règlement municipal (Règlement sur les pesticides) sur les pesticides afin de réglementer et de limiter en grande partie l'utilisation cosmétique des pesticides. Depuis la promulgation du règlement, ACRE a mis l'accent sur l'éducation et la sensibilisation. Travaillant à la fois avec et indépendamment de la municipalité de Chelsea, ACRE cherche à informer la population locale, les autres communautés et les gouvernements à tous les niveaux des dangers de l'utilisation des pesticides et des alternatives à leur utilisation.

Clubs de Golf

Les membres d'ACRE ont travaillé avec la municipalité et les représentants des deux terrains de golf de Chelsea, sur un sous-comité municipal pour concevoir des moyens de continuer à réduire l'utilisation des pesticides sur les terrains. À ce jour, des réductions importantes ont été apportées: aucun pesticide n'est appliqué aux allées et les applications de pesticides sur les verts ont été considérablement réduites. ACRE s'engage toujours à éliminer totalement les pesticides.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous des liens vers des documents relatifs à un Chelsea sans pesticides

[haut]