ACRE logo

Action Chelsea for the Respect of the Environment

Yahoo! The Hundred ACRE Wood is now protected for long term conservation of nature.


HAW

On March 31, ACRE Directors Olaf Jensen and Bronwyn Rayfield signed the deed completing the transfer of the property known as the Hundred Acre Wood in La Pêche. Instead of being developed for housing, this property will now be protected for conservation, while allowing local residents to connect with nature. The conservation of this beautiful property is the result of an enormous effort by local residents, and partners, working through ACRE to protect the property.

More...

The forest is a key part of the North-East Ecological Corridor identified by Gatineau Park. The role of the corridors is to keep the Park connected to the regional landscape, so it does not become an island cut off by development. ACRE’s conservation priority is to acquire properties in these corridors to support Gatineau Park.

Conservation is a team sport and there are so many people and partners who contributed to this success. We would like to make a special mention of the Leacross Foundation and their CEO, Ms. Roslyn Bern. Her early support for the project was instrumental in creating momentum for the project and her personal connection to the land is well appreciated.

The people of Wakefield and Chelsea provided massive individual support for this project. The individual fund-raising efforts by individuals, community groups and kids are heartwarming and demonstrate a love for the land and their home place. Laurie Gough should be mentioned for her heroic and very, very fun online auction which included a kid who raised money for this project by auctioning a "pie a month". Brenda Labelle raised money by getting her wedding guests to make their wedding gifts a financial contribution to the Hundred Acre Wood. Amazing. And we can't forget Valerie Brown who asked that donations be made to ACRE after her passing... friends and family made a number of heartfelt contributions to the Hundred Acre Wood in memory of Valerie.

The fundraising team in Wakefield has been great: Patricia Hardie, Anne van Dusen, Britta Nielson, and Jocelyn Turner. No doubt we are missing some names in these lists, and we apologize for that. The names and stories are illustrative of the great community efforts that blossomed to make this happen. We also need to thank the Municipality of La Pêche for being an early promoter of the project and we extend special thanks to Mayor Guillaume Lamoureux who was the first person to personally pledge to the project.

Gatineau Park (the National Capital Commission) was extremely supportive of this project and we are grateful to Stephane Wojciechowski and Catherine Verreault for their efforts.

There were also critically important government sponsors of the project. ACRE gratefully acknowledges the support of Parks Canada Agency, Ducks Unlimited Canada, Quebec’s Fondation de la Faune, the National Capital Commission, and the Municipality of La Pêche. This project was also made possible thanks to the Nature Conservancy of Canada’s (NCC) Partenariat pour les milieux naturels project for which Quebec’s Minister of Environment and Climate Change accorded a grant to the NCC.

ACRE is also grateful to Christopher Minnes and the Minnes Corporation for their Ecological Gift and being strong and willing partners in this project.

ACRE logo

Action Chelsea pour le respect de l'Environnement

Youpi! La Forêt des Cent Acres est maintenant protégée pour la conservation de la nature à long terme.


HAW

Le 31 mars dernier, les administrateurs d'ACRE, Olaf Jensen et Bronwyn Rayfield, ont signé l'acte de vente finalisant l’acquisition de la propriété connue sous le nom de la Forêt des Cent Acres à La Pêche. Au lieu d'être développée pour le logement, cette propriété sera désormais protégée pour la conservation, permettant ainsi aux résidents locaux de se connecter avec la nature. La conservation de cette magnifique propriété est le résultat d'un énorme effort des résidents locaux et des partenaires, travaillant avec ACRE pour protéger la propriété.

Lire la suite...

Cette forêt est un élément clé du corridor écologique nord-est du parc de la Gatineau identifié par la Commission de la Capitale Nationale. Le rôle de ces corridors est de garder le parc connecté au paysage régional, afin qu'il ne devienne pas un îlot isolé par le développement. Une des priorités d’ACRE est d'acquérir des propriétés dans ces corridors pour soutenir le parc de la Gatineau.

La conservation est un sport d'équipe et tant de personnes et de partenaires ont contribué à ce succès. Nous aimerions faire une mention spéciale à la Fondation Leacross et à sa présidente, Mme Roslyn Bern. Son soutien précoce au projet a joué un rôle déterminant dans la création d'un élan d’envois pour le projet et son lien personnel avec la terre est bien apprécié.

Les résidents de Wakefield et de Chelsea ont apporté un soutien massif à ce projet. Les efforts individuels de collecte de fonds, les dons des groupes communautaires et des enfants font chaud au cœur et démontrent un amour pour la terre et leur environnement. Une mention spéciale à Laurie Gough, pour sa vente aux enchères en ligne très amusante, qui comprenait un enfant qui a collecté des fonds pour ce projet en mettant aux enchères une "tarte par mois". Brenda Labelle a recueilli des fonds en invitant ses invités à faire de leurs cadeaux de mariage une contribution financière à la Forêt des Cent Acres. Et nous ne pouvons pas oublier Valerie Brown qui a demandé que des dons soient faits à ACRE après son décès... les amis et la famille ont fait de nombreuses contributions à la Forêt des Cent Acres en mémoire de Valerie. L'équipe de collecte de fonds de Wakefield a été formidable : Patricia Hardie, Anne van Dusen, Britta Nielson et Jocelyn Turner. Il nous manque sans doute des noms dans cette liste, et nous nous en excusons. Ces noms et ces histoires illustrent les grands efforts communautaires qui ont eu lieu pour mener à terme cette acquisition.

Nous devons également remercier la municipalité de La Pêche d'avoir été l'un des premiers promoteurs du projet et nous tenons à remercier tout particulièrement le maire Guillaume Lamoureux qui a été la première personne à s'engager personnellement dans le projet.

Le parc de la Gatineau (la Commission de la capitale nationale) a été extrêmement favorable à ce projet et nous sommes reconnaissants à Stéphane Wojciechowski et Catherine Verreault pour leurs efforts.

Il y avait également des commanditaires gouvernementaux d'une importance cruciale pour le projet. ACRE tient à remercier l'Agence Parcs Canada, Canards Illimités Canada, la Fondation de la faune du Québec, la Commission de la capitale nationale et la Municipalité de La Pêche pour leur soutien. Ce projet a également été rendu possible grâce au projet Partenariat pour les milieux naturels de Conservation de la nature Canada (CNC) pour lequel le ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique du Québec a accordé une subvention à la CNC.

ACRE est également reconnaissant à Christopher Minnes et à la « Minnes Corporation » pour leur don écologique et pour avoir été de solides partenaires dans ce projet.




Faire un don pour l'acquisition de la Forêt des Cent Acres

Merci pour votre don généreux pour acquérir cette propriété à grande valeur écologique!